Gooey Butter Cookies

Three years ago I was in St. Louis for Urbana 2009.  We asked the concierge at the hotel where we could go for a quick lunch. She suggested a Whole Foods type grocery store.  She added, “Try the Gooey Butter Cookies, you will come back and thank me!” She was right I went back and thanked her!  I know Paula Dean makes varieties of Gooey Butter Cake and that is good, but the cookies is where it is at!

Before you start your New Year’s Resolutions to lose weight, make sure you make these cookies for your parties this week, actually they are good through out the year.

I don’t know where I found this recipe three years ago, so I am sorry I can’t give credit where it is due!

Gooey Butter Cookies

1 (8 oz) package cream cheese

1/2 cup butter (softened)

1 egg

1/4 tsp vanilla

1 (18.25 oz) package yellow cake mix (I always use Pillsbury)

Confectioner’s Sugar for rolling

– Cream together the cream cheese and butter until smooth.

– add egg, vanilla and cake mix

– Roll batter into balls and roll in confectioner’s sugar

– Bake at 350 for 8-10 min (Don’t over bake)

IMG_2477

IMG_2478

IMG_2479

If you are anything like me your kitchen will probably look like it snowed.

Happy Baking!

2 thoughts on “Gooey Butter Cookies

Leave a Reply

